Posted by: the watchmen | March 10, 2009

The B’ Man and his Rifle.

To protect we never tarried,Our father’s and our own abode, You were the rifle that I carried, I, the ‘B’ man on the road.

Freedom’s fearless call then fetched you, You were the answer to that call, I knew it as I lay and watched you, Hanging on my bedroom wall.

I knew, and it made me bolder, T’was you that made my burden light, I with your sling across my shoulder, So we journeyed through the night.

Come you back, the strife to settle, Bring back the comfort you bestow, My comrade of the wood and metal Rifle that I used to know.

You are gone, yet what disaster Could come, that we should fear to meet, For you and I were always master, You and I were never beat.

Anon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

