Posted by: the watchmen | March 2, 2009

Old Age? Fruit in Old Age.___submitted by Kevin and Sandrae.

Psalms 71:9 Cast me not off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength faileth.

The problem of old age has been with the race ever since sin entered into the world. Society tries to cope with it by ‘old age pensions,’ retirement plans, social security, homes for the aged etc. Today, according to the statisticians, a man is old at 65 and ready to be gently put on the shelf, but all these things cannot take the loneliness and disappointment of old age away. Only those who know Jesus Christ can face old age with joy and confidence and fruitfulness. While old ages means decline of physical strength, for believers it means increase of spiritual strength, but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day. ( 2 Cor. 4: 16 ). Physically old age means ‘declension’ but spiritually it means a “ascension.” Only Christ can make the evening beautiful and fruitful. Someone has said, “The devil has no happy old people.” To grow old and have nothing to look forward to is indeed a grim prospect. The things of the world have faded and they have nothing left. But for the believer the sunset can be most beautiful. May the prayer of those of us who are on the last lap ever be: “Let the evening be bright.” I have made my prayer the prayer of the Psalmist, “O God, thou hast taught me from my youth: and hitherto have I declared thy wondrous works. Now also when I am old and grayheaded, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come. “ ( Psalms 71:17-18 )

Psalms 92:14 They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing;

-M.R.D

Lord, keep me sweet when I grow old,

And things in life seem hard to bear;

When I feel sad and all alone,

And people do not seem to care,

Oh keep me sweet and let me look

Beyond the frets that life must hold,

To see the grand eternal joys;

Yes, keep me sweet in growing old! – J. Hazard

“There is no retirement for the Christian.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

