Posted by: the watchmen | November 16, 2008

Ulster Identity___I Baxter.

 

Am I from Northern Ireland, Ireland, Ulster, the six counties, the North or here? Should I care.

 

On a longish visit to England, visiting a number of different regions, I carried out a little personal experiment.

In general conversation, with younger people, I inquired if, from my accent, they knew where I was from?

Invariably the answer was Ireland.

If I responded Northern Ireland,it appeared meaningless. Indeed, the cockier response was “same difference”.

I am minded of one of Seamus Mallon’s famous quips when he said something along the following lines — that “we were in a loveless marriage, in separate rooms!”

Should I worry about a divorce in the not-too-distant future?

I Baxter

Belfast

Leave a Reply

Categories

